Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/fa1e4cee-7da1-40a1-9456-f854c282faf3n.jpg?rev=-2100779746
Logo Image For Printing

Toronto Catholic District School Board

Catholic Education Week



TCDSB Celebrates Catholic Education Week

Student Mass and Peace Walk
On Tuesday, May 2 students from high schools across TCDSB gathered together at the Catholic Education Centre for a student Mass, led by Father Michael Lehman. ​The Mass was also broadcast live for classrooms to tune in across the board.
Following the Mass, students led a Peace Walk through the surrounding neighborhood, carrying with them messages of peace and prayer. View pictures from this day below.

Carousel Image
Image 1 of 18
TCDSB Schools Celebrate Catholic Education Week
Students Talk About Catholic Education
Check out this short video created by students from Christ the King Catholic School, which talks about what Catholic Education means to them.
You can download all Catholic Education Week materials at

TCDSB Awards: NBA All-Star Kyle Lowry

among 2017 Award Recipients

Kyle Lowry, NBA All-Star and Co-founder of the Lowry Love Foundation was among the recipients of the 2017 TCDSB Awards. The annual TCDSB Awards were presented to accomplished alumni, students, staff and friends of Catholic education at Awards Night held May 1, 2017.
Mr. Lowry and wife Ayahna Cornish-Lowry were presented with a TCDSB Friends of Catholic Education Award for their support of TCDSB students through the Lowry Love Foundation. In 2014 and 2016, the Lowry family touched the lives of 60 students from St. Paul Catholic School and Our Lady of Victory Catholic School. Each student received $300 worth of toys from Toys R Us during the Christmas season that they would otherwise go without, purchased by Lowry family. The family expressed their appreciation in the form of a video.
The audience of over 300 parents, students, staff, alumni, friends and family celebrated the awards recipients as they were called on stage to accept their award. As the Chair, Angela Kennedy, remarked to the guests of the honourees: "We all need someone there to support us, to provide encouragement. It is on their shoulders that our recipients stand tonight."
M.C. for the evening, Associate Director Rory McGuckin jump-started the audience with his sense of humour and talent. He creatively introduced our recipients as they were presented with their awards by Chair Angela Kennedy, Trustees Frank D’Amico, Nancy Crawford and Ann Andrachuk, Student Trustee Rhea Carlisle, Director of Education Angela Gauthier and Superintendent Nick D’Avella.
Carousel Image
Image 1 of 61



Sharing the spotlight with the Lowry family was Marcia Brown, Executive Director of Trust 15 who was nominated for her support of the physical, emotional, intellectual, mental and spiritual needs of TCDSB students, and the Indigo Love of Reading Foundation whose contributions towards supporting student and family literacy total over $400,000.

As this year marks the TCDSB Year of the Parish, the Reverend Father Patrick O’Dea was honoured with a TCDSB Award of Merit for being a shining example of the gifts that pastors keep on giving to our community. Joining O’Dea was devout Catholic and editor of award-winning books, Dr. Mark McGowan who humbly serves his community by bringing the history of Catholic education to nearly all 29 Ontario Catholic School Boards. Bruce Rivers, Executive Director of Covenant House was also honoured for his tireless advocacy for children and youth.

TCDSB Alumni Awards were presented to Lisa Canning, Interior Designer and graduate of Cardinal Carter Academy for the Arts, and Martin McCarthy, graduate of Michael Power/St. Joseph Catholic Secondary School whose annual financial contributions of over $15,000 are directed to funding TCDSB social work emergencies and sending students to camp and on school trips so that no student is left behind.


Kwabena Owusu Mensah, student at St. Jane Frances Catholic School (North York), and Ryan Gatt, student at Dante Alighieri Academy (North York) will receive the Sr. Mary Hamilton Award for Exceptional Students. Helena Sousa, EA from Holy Spirit Catholic School and Rosa Mastrofrancesco, EA from Monsignor Percy Johnson CSS received the Ashif Jaffer Award, presented by Ashif Jaffer himself.
Awards Night is our traditional celebration to launch Catholic Education Week and an opportunity to recognize the accomplishments of our alumni, students, staff and friends of Catholic education.

For a full list of this year's recipients, click here​.
To nominate someone for an award, see list of awards below and accompanying nomination forms. For more information, contact the TCDSB Communications Department at  or by calling 416-222-8282 Ext. 5314