Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/fa1e4cee-7da1-40a1-9456-f854c282faf3n.jpg?rev=-2100779746
Logo Image For Printing

Toronto Catholic District School Board

TCDSB Awards Night 2019 


A Celebration of Student Success 


The Toronto Catholic District School Board kicked off Catholic Education Week 2019 by honouring outstanding student achievement, in addition to three exceptional alumni at TCDSB Awards Night on Monday, May 6, 2019. 
This special annual evening recognizes student and team achievements from schools across the City, and celebrates distinguished individuals and alumni who continue to be active in the Catholic community and have distinguished themselves in their career or accomplishments. 
The audience of over 200 parents, students, staff, alumni, friends and family celebrated the award recipients as they were called on stage to accept their award. As the Vice Chair, Michael Del Grande, remarked to the guests of the honourees: "We all need someone there to support us, to provide encouragement. It is on their shoulders that our recipients stand tonight."  
Celebrating the Year of We Belong, TCDSB was proud two acknowledge three exceptional Alumni Award recipients: Kristen Facciol, Marshall McLuhan graduate and a Canadian space roboticist; Pete Flagler, Michael Power/St. Joseph graduate and current Toronto Marlies’ Assistant Equipment Manager; and P.C. Peter De Quintal, St. Mary’s Catholic Academy graduate and a Toronto Police Officer who is known for his in-school programs and community collaboration. 
Sharing the spotlight with the alumni recipients was the Tom Leon Family, who was nominated for their dedication to Catholic education and contributions to help close the financial gap that is an impediment to many students achieving their dreams of a higher education.  
Daniel Walton, student at Brebeuf College School received the Sr. Mary Hamilton Award for Exceptional Students. Katherine Malowany, student at Holy Angels Catholic School, received the Father Andrew Cushieri Award for Young Citizens. 
Joanne Ferrer, Special Education Teacher from St. Monica Catholic School and Marcella Porretta, EA from Monsignor Percy Johnson CSS received the Ashif Jaffer Award, presented by Ashif Jaffer himself. 
Emily Karagossian, student at St. Kateri Tekawitha, and Adaeze Mbalaja, student Madonna Catholic Secondary School were the first ever recipients of theSister Evanne Hunter Award for Young Women in Leadership.
Student Achievement Awards were also be presented to TCDSB students and teams from across the Board who have demonstrated outstanding achievement either academically, physically, spiritually or socially at the provincial, national or international level.​​ For a full list of this year's recipients, click here. 

THANK YOU to the following individuals who helped make this night a success: 

  • Our M.C. for the evening, Superintendent of Student Success Gina Iuliano-Marrello
  • Performers “The West End Strings” –  made up of students from All Saints, Father Serra, St. Eugene, St. Marcellus, and Father John Redmond
  • Lifetouch for donating our Photo Booth


Carousel Image
Image 1 of 24