Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/7e3fc6db-fece-4dea-950c-ddf0a3a62d1en.png?rev=-262882405
Logo Image For Printing

History of the Student Trustee

The Education Quality Improvement Act, passed by the Canadian province of Ontario in 1997, mandated the creation of non-voting student representatives in publicly funded school boards across the province. Each year one secondary school student is elected to serve the Board as a student trustee.
Ontario Student Trustee's Association
The Ontario Student Trustees Association / Association-l'Association des élèves conseillers et conseillères de l'Ontario (OSTA-AECO) is an official stakeholder in education dedicated to representing the 1.9 million students in Ontario from the four publicly funded areas of education: English Catholic, English Public, French Catholic and French Public. Our Association's mandate is to lobby the provincial government and collaborate with other stakeholder groups to ensure the best interests of students in Ontario are heard and acted upon. OSTA-AECO provides the support, direction and professional development that Student Trustees require to be effective and successful.
Want to learn more about the role of Student Trustees at the provincial level? Visit the OSTA-AECO website.

Past Student Trustees

  • 2016-2017 Karina Dubrovskaya & Rhea Carlisle
  • 2015-2016 Allison Gacad & Karina Dubrovskaya
  • 2014/2015 Christopher MacDonald & Hannah McGroarty
  • 2013/2014 William Lawrence & Enrique Olivo
  • 2012/2013 Andrew Walker
  • 2011/2012 Sabrina Renna
  • 2010/2011 Natalie Rizzo
  • 2009/2010 Connor Rollit
  • 2008/2009 James Dempsey
  • 2007/2008 Diego Noronha
  • 2006/2007 Ihor Korbabicz
  • 2005/2006 Ashley Pereira
  • 2004/2005 Danylo Korbabicz
  • 2003/2004 Kyle Iannuzzi
  • 2002/2003 Milo Silva
  • 2001/2002 Annamaria Enenajor
  • 2000/2001 Shannon Marie Iagallo
  • 1999/2000 Krista Lopes
  • 1998/1999 Caroline Chuang