Navigate Up
Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/7e3fc6db-fece-4dea-950c-ddf0a3a62d1en.png?rev=-262882405
Logo Image For Printing

Tune in to the online meetings here.


Safe Schools Advisory Committee

​Trustee Member: Frank D’Amico and Norm Di Pasquale (alternate)

Lead Superintendent: Michael Caccamo


Terms of Reference

The Safe Schools Advisory Committee meets 5 times per school year to provide advice about TCDSB safe schools policies, procedures and initiatives. The various employee and stakeholder group representatives can bring forth information related to safe schools for consideration on a system level.

Meetings occur on Wednesdays, 5:00pm-7:00pm

As school boards continue to develop and implement policies and programs to meet Ministry requirements in support of the provincial safe schools strategy, it is expected they will consult with different stakeholders.

The Safe Schools Advisory Committee is an Advisory Committee of the Board providing input and advice on Ministry of Education legislation and policy/Program Memoranda, TCDSB Safe Schools policies, as well as resources, procedures and protocols utilized at TCDSB. The committee also reviews metrics for monitoring, reviewing and evaluating the effectiveness of board policies and procedures. The committee will consult as a whole with a system focus and not engage in local Safe School issues where other mechanisms for their resolution exist.

Safe School Advisory meetings may be considered public but may revert to private sessions where circumstances require confidentiality. Attendees of the meetings who are not delegated as members may attend as observers not participants.

Presently, representatives from the following groups comprise the committee:

  • Association of Professional Student Services Personnel (APSSP)
  • Catholic Student Leadership Impact Team (CSLIT)
  • CUPE 1280
  • CUPE 1328
  • Elementary Principals Association (TCVPA)
  • Elementary Vice Principals Association (TCPVA)
  • Parent
  • Secondary Principals Association (SSPA)
  • Secondary Vice Principals Association (SSVPA)
  • Toronto Elementary Catholic Teachers-OECTA
  • Toronto Secondary Unit-OECTA
  • Trustee
  • Ad Hoc members as per an identified need