Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/7e3fc6db-fece-4dea-950c-ddf0a3a62d1en.png?rev=-262882405
Logo Image For Printing

Filipino Heritage Month


WHEREAS: Toronto is Home to almost 300,000 Canadians of Filipino descent. Filipinos have contributed in enriching the diversity and social fabric not only in this region of Ontario, but also areas across Canada. A vast majority of Filipino children attend the Toronto Catholic District School Board;
AND WHEREAS: The 2018 year marks a milestone in the history and cultural identity of the Filipino diaspora in Canada with the celebration of the 120th Anniversary of the proclamation of Philippine Independence in 1898 and the proclamation of the month of June as Filipino Heritage Month by the Toronto City Council, on November 8, 2017. This year also holds a special meaning for the Philippine Consulate General’s office as it will celebrate its 40th year of establishment as a Consulate General in the City of Toronto;
AND WHEREAS: The Philippines’ rich cultural heritage and vibrant passion for our Catholic faith greatly enhance the TCDSB’s Mission & Vision which would encourage and engage our Catholic schools especially those with plans to offer in-school events during the June Filipino Heritage Month and throughout the year;
AND WHEREAS: This will be an unique opportunity to highlight the immense contribution of the Philippine Arts and Social Studies in the Ontario Curriculum (PASSOC) Project, a collaboration between the Toronto Catholic District School Board and York University that has gained significant public and media attention while also enhancing the academic achievement of students across the City of Toronto;
NOW THEREFORE, the Toronto Catholic District School Board hereby proclaims June 12 as Filipino Heritage Day and June as Filipino Heritage Month in the TCDSB annually, with elementary and secondary schools encouraged to mark the auspicious Filipino Heritage Day with their own in-school celebrations through various educational, cultural, and religious activities throughout the Board.
Barbara Poplawski                                          Rory McGuckin
Chair of the Board                                          Director of Education​