Navigate Up
Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/fa1e4cee-7da1-40a1-9456-f854c282faf3n.jpg?rev=-2100779746
Logo Image For Printing

Toronto Catholic District School Board

​Barbara Poplawski Named New Chair of the Toronto Catholic District School Board

​​Barbara Poplawski, Trustee for Ward 10, was elected as the new Chair of the Toronto Catholic District School Board at the annual Caucus meeting held November 27.​​​ 

The longest serving TCDSB Trustee, Ms. Poplawski was first elected to the Board in 1978, and has served on almost every committee during her political career, including terms as both chair and vice-chair on Board standing committees.


Committed to the goals of the Board’s multi-year strategic plan, she says the Board’s responsibilities are to serve students first and foremost, but also to be transparent and accountable to those stakeholders who do not have children in the system


“I take a positive approach in everything in our schools,” says the Chair Elect. “Good things are happening in our Board and in our schools,”, but Ms. Poplawski adds that she is shocked that “one out of every four students in our system is living in poverty, and we need to do everything we can to support our students by seeking out funding, resources and partnerships that would benefit all students in all schools.”


She also spoke about the need to bring music back to schools, and the need for everyone to “live and breathe and walk our Catholic faith.”


Maria Rizzo, Trustee for Ward 5, was elected as Vice-Chair of the Board. Ms. Rizzo has been trustee since 2003.


Appointments to Statutory and Standing Committees included:

  • Supervised Alternative Learning: Nancy Crawford, Jo-Ann Davis (alternate)
  • Student Achievement and Well Being, Catholic Education and Human Resources Committee: Chair-Nancy Crawford; Vice-Chair-Angela Kennedy
  • Corporate Services, Strategic Planning and Property Committee: Chair-Jo-Ann Davis; Vice-Chair-Garry Tanuan
  • Catholic Parent Involvement Committee: Garry Tanuan, Angela Kennedy (alternate)
  • Governance and Policy: Chair-Angela Kennedy; Vice-Chair-Jo-Ann Davis