Navigate Up
Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/fa1e4cee-7da1-40a1-9456-f854c282faf3n.jpg?rev=-2100779746
Logo Image For Printing

Toronto Catholic District School Board

TCDSB High School Debate Championship

Congratulations to all the schools who participated in the Third Annual TCDSB High School Debate Championship on Saturday, December 2 at Loretto Abbey. The field of nine teams saw some new participants join the annual tournament such as Senator O’Connor, Bishop Allen Academy and St. Joseph’s-Michael Power and regular competitors like the Abbey return. This year’s prepared resolution was “Be it resolved that (BIRT): Ontario schools should continue to be named after John A. MacDonald”. Debaters prepared speeches for two rounds on this topic and then debated an improvised resolution for the final round. The competition was lively and animated, featuring a talented pool of debaters including top performers Lillian Carcao from Bishop Allen, Alexander Lynch from St. Joe’s-Michael Power, Hannah Routledge from the Abbey and Mitchell MacDonald from Senator O’Connor. The top overall school for a second year in a row was Loretto Abbey, coached by Mr. Shaun Hussain, who was the tournament host and one of its organizers as well. A special thank you to Ms. Bartolini, principal of the Abbey for her steadfast support of debating, to the Loretto Abbey community for inviting alumni and parents to judge and to Mr. D’Avella from the board office for his encouragement and support.
Carousel Image
Image 1 of 9