Navigate Up
Sign In
schools francislibermann francislibermann 5A2EF092-6398-418F-8B29-84D2350EDEB6 8528
/schools/Style Library/ci_upload/e4612fed-2c99-4737-b541-c9af7bc0846dn.png?rev=175997103 /schools/Style Library/ci_upload/56a4da94-eec3-43fc-b99a-5812f05d0e33s.png?rev=-486192662

Libermann Teacher Wins Distinguished Service Award

Congratulations to Dennis Lahteenmaa from Francis Libermann Catholic Secondary School for being chosen as one of the winners of the 2020 Distinguished Service Awards, presented by Youth Science Canada. Selected from among many candidates from across Canada Mr. Lahteenmaa is an experienced teacher at Francis Libermann who is well respected by his colleagues and students alike. A dedicated and committed science teacher, he continually finds new approaches to motivate his students to achieve excellence. It is a testament to his teaching talents that have earned him the Distinguished Service Award.

The Awards annually recognize up to ten volunteers and staff who have made an outstanding contribution, through innovation, long service, or leadership, to the organization or its programs at any level. 

2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced​

Congratulations to:

Top - left to right:

  • Rino Castonguay , Edmundston NB

  • Denis Gagnon, Peace River AB

  • Dennis Lahteenmaa, Toronto ON

  • Kelly MacAlpine, Woodstock ON

Bottom - left to right:

  • Daniel Moffet, Peace River AB

  • Jim Montgomery, Ottawa ON

  • Rudy Subedar, Winnipeg MB

  • Bill Whelan, Charlottetown PE

Recipients receive a crystal award, which is usually presented at a Regional Science Fair or the Canada-Wide Science Fair.