Navigate Up
Sign In
schools marshallmcluhan marshallmcluhan 34F5AEC1-4B31-4CF8-AEBD-0AC8392CD748 7850
/schools/Style Library/ci_upload/bb3a8681-8ba8-40a3-8009-174c67803f78n.png?rev=-1825941164 /schools/Style Library/ci_upload/b377c3f5-2a0d-406b-a8c9-2d16c0326858s.png?rev=704116326

Carolyn Barker Named Morehead-Cain Scholar

Congratulations to ​Carolyne Barker, ​Marshall McLuhan CSSPortrait of Carolyne Barker grade 12 student, who is ​​​an official Morehead-Cain Scholar!  
This is an important accomplishment for Carolyn, Marshall McLuhan and the TCDSB, as this is McLuhan's second major scholarship this year!  Aaron Benwick was recently named a 2015 Loran Scholar​​.  
The Loran is a National Scholarship and Morehead-Cain is an International Scholarship. Below is the link and an excerpt from the Scholarship Foundation website in order to give you an idea as to what Carolyne has achieved.
"The Morehead-Cain Foundation is the home of the first merit scholarship program in the United States. The Morehead-Cain Scholarship covers all expenses for four years of undergraduate study at UNC-Chapel Hill. In addition, it features a distinctive program of summer enrichment experiences. Over four summers, scholars will have the opportunity to complete an outdoor leadership course, carry out public service in the United States or abroad, conduct research at sites across the world and gain experience in private enterprise.
The summer enrichment program is complemented during the academic year by the Morehead-Cain Discovery Fund. Scholars are encouraged to more deeply explore their particular interests, whether they involve studying under celebrated artists, attending leadership retreats or obtaining wilderness first responder certification. From conducting research about traditional medicine in Ecuador to creating a documentary about hidden Jewish communities in Ethiopia, Morehead-Cain Scholars are given resources to pursue educational opportunities wherever they find them.
Selection criteria for the Morehead-Cain are leadership, academic achievement, moral force of character and physical vigor. Morehead-Cain recipients are chosen solely on the basis of merit and accomplishment.
More than 220 Morehead-Cain Scholars currently study on campus, making outstanding contributions across the full range of University life. From student government to community service to the performing arts, Morehead-Cain Scholars play a prominent role in Carolina’s vibrant student community. For example, UNC’s recently elected student body president, senior class president and student attorney general are all Morehead-Cains, as are the outgoing student body president, Honor Court chair and student attorney general.
Within the past 10 years, 13 Morehead-Cain Scholars have won Rhode​ Scholarships to England’s Oxford University, one of the world’s most competitive and prestigious awards for graduate study. Since the first Morehead Scholars graduated from Carolina in 1957, 30 of UNC’s 33 Rhodes Scholars have been Morehead-Cain graduates.
Morehead-Cain Scholars have accounted for 24 of the University’s 36 Luce Scholars and 19 of Carolina’s 32 Truman Scholars, among the nation’s most generous and distinguished awards for graduate study. Twenty-seven Morehead-Cain Scholars have won Fulbright Fellowships.
Like the scholars, the nearly 3,000 Morehead-Cain Alumni across the world are a diverse and distinguished group. They include:
  • Pulitzer Prize-winning author Taylor Branch;

  • U.S. Congressmen Jim Cooper, Mike McIntyre and David Price;

  • Sallie Krawcheck, owner of 85 Broads and former head of Merrill Lynch and Smith Barney;

  • Jonathan Reckford, chief executive officer of Habitat for Humanity International;

  • Karen Stevenson, a Los Angeles attorney and the first black American woman to win a Rhodes Scholarship;

  • New York Times columnist Frank Bruni;

  • Tim Sullivan, chief executive officer of;

  • Ann Livermore, current board of directors member and former executive vice president at Hewlett-Packard;

  • Adam Falk, president of Williams College;

  • Peter Henry, dean of New York University’s Stern School of Business;

  • Danae Ringelmann, co-founder and chief development officer of Indiegogo, the world’s largest crowdfunding platform

  • David Gardner, co-founder and co-chariman of the board of the Motley Fool, world-renowned multimedia financial services company; and

  • Francis Collins, director of the National Institutes of Health.

The Morehead-Cain, founded in 1945, has been a model for countless merit awards throughout the United States. These include the University of Virginia’s Jefferson Scholars Program, Duke University’s Benjamin N. Duke Scholars Program, and Emory University’s Woodruff Scholars Program."​​​​