An empty classroom with chairs and tables.

Special Education Advisory Committee

Ontario Regulation 464/97 of the Education Act directs that each Board of Education establish a Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC).

The Committee may make recommendations to the Board in respect of any matter affecting the establishment and development of special education programs and services for exceptional pupils of the Board.

SEAC membership includes three Elected Officials of the Board, up to twelve Members of Local Associations and one or more additional members from the community.

The Superintendent of Special Education serves as the Secretary to SEAC and is supported by Program Principal Coordinators and Chiefs of the Board.

SEAC Meetings

SEAC meets monthly throughout the school year and its meetings are open to the public.

SEAC meetings start at 7:00 PM at the Catholic Education Centre, 80 Sheppard Avenue East in Toronto.

The members of SEAC have a strong interest and commitment in assisting other parents who have children with special needs or abilities.

Application for SEAC Community Membership

Applications are currently being accepted for consideration.

Due date of application:  October 31, 2022

SEAC Members

SEAC includes the following members:

Name

​Email

​Contact Information

Maria Meehan
Lead Superintendent

​Maria.Meehan@tcdsb.org

Superintendent of Education - Special Services
(416) 222-8282 ext. 2486

​​​Melanie Battaglia

​Melanie.Battaglia@tcdsb.org

​​Autism Ontario, Toronto Chapter
P.O. Box 55570 Cedar Heights
Scarborough, ON M1H 3G7
1-866-925-9969

Michelle Da Costa

Michelle.DaCosta@tcdsb.org

Ontario Parent’s Advocating for Children with Cancer (OPACC)
524 Bayfield Street North
P.O. Box 20005
Barrie, ON L4M 5E9
(705) 828-7965
www.opacc.org
info@opacc.org

​Geoffrey Feldman
Vice-Chair

​Geoffrey.Feldman@tcdsb.org

​​Ontario Disability Coalition
5 Skywood Drive
Richmond Hill, L4E 4L2
(416) 903-5067
https://odcoalition.com/
@ODCoalition
ontariodisabilitycoalition@gmail.com​

Wendy Layton

Wendy.Layton@tcdsb.org

Community Member

​Lori Mastrogiuseppe

Lori.Mastrogiuseppe@tcdsb.org

​FASworld Toronto
408-452 Scarborough Golf Club Rd.
Toronto, M1G 1H1
(416) 264-8000
www.fasworld.com
Brian@fasworld.com

Lisa McMahon

Lisa.McMahon@tcdsb.org

Community Member

​Tyler Munro

​Tyler.Munro@tcdsb.org

​​Inclusion Action in Ontario
55 Berkley Crescent
Simcoe, N3Y 4M7
1-877-681-5128
https://inclusionactionontario.ca
contact@inclusionactionontario.ca

Deborah Nightingale

Deborah.Nightingale@tcdsb.org

Association for Bright Children of Ontario (ABC Ontario)
www.abcontario.ca
president@abcontario.ca

​Mary Pugh

​Mary.Pugh@tcdsb.org

​​VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
(416) 487-7719
info@voicefordeafkids.com
www.voicefordeafkids.com

​George Wedge
Chair

George.Wedge@tcdsb.org

Easter Seals Ontario​
POC: Alison Morse
One Concorde Gate, Suite 700
Toronto, M3C 3N6
(416) 510-5070
Fax: (416) 696-1035
Toll Free: (800)-668-6252
www.easterseals.org

Trustee Angela Kennedy

Angela.Kennedy@tcdsb.org

​(416) 512-3411

​Trustee Nancy Crawford

​Nancy.Crawford@tcdsb.org

​(416) 512-3412

​Trustee Daniel Di Giorgio

​Daniel.DiGiorgio@tcdsb.org

​​(416) 512-3410