Sign In
/Style Library/ci_upload/7e3fc6db-fece-4dea-950c-ddf0a3a62d1en.png?rev=-262882405
Logo Image For Printing

Special Education Advisory Committee


Introduction to the Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)


Ontario Regulation 464/97 of the Education Act directs that each Board of Education establish a Special Education Advisory Committee, or SEAC. The Committee may make recommendations to the Board in respect of any matter affecting the establishment and development of special education programs and services for exceptional pupils of the Board.

SEAC membership includes three Elected Officials of the Board, up to twelve Members of Local Associations and one or more additional members from the community. The Superintendent of Special Education serves as the Secretary to SEAC and is supported by Program Principal Coordinators and Chiefs of the Board. SEAC meets monthly throughout the school year and its meetings are open to the public. SEAC meetings start at 7:00 p.m. at the Catholic Education Centre, 80 Sheppard Avenue East in Toronto. The members of SEAC have a strong interest and commitment in assisting other parents who have children with special needs or abilities.

Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC)


Maria Meehan
Lead​ Superintendent
Email: ​Maria.Meehan@tcdsb.org Superintendent of Education – Special Services
(416) 222-8282 ext. 2486
​​​Melanie Battaglia
Vice-Chair
Email: ​Melanie.Battaglia@tcdsb.org ​Autism Ontario, Toronto Chapter
P.O. Box 55570 Cedar Heights
Scarborough, ON M1H 3G7
1-866-925-9969
Michelle Da Costa Email: Michelle.DaCosta@tcdsb.org Ontario Parent’s Advocating for Children with Cancer (OPACC)
524 Bayfield Street North
P.O. Box 20005
Barrie, ON L4M 5E9
(705) 828-7965
Website | Email
​Geoffrey Feldman Email: ​Geoffrey.Feldman@tcdsb.org ​Ontario Disability Coalition
5 Skywood Drive
Richmond Hill, L4E 4L2
(416) 903-5067
Website | Email | Twitter
Wendy Layton Email: Wendy.Layton@tcdsb.org Community Member
​Lori Mastrogiuseppe Email: Lori.Mastrogiuseppe@tcdsb.org​ FASworld Toronto
408-452 Scarborough Golf Club Rd.
Toronto, M1G 1H1
(416) 264-8000
Website | Email
Lisa McMahon Email: Lisa.McMahon@tcdsb.org Community Member
​Tyler Munro Email: ​Tyler.Munro@tcdsb.org ​Inclusion Action in Ontario
55 Berkley Cresent
Simcoe, N3Y 4M7
1-877-681-5128
Website | Email
Deborah Nightingale Email: Deborah.Nightingale@tcdsb.org Association for Bright Children of Ontario (ABC Ontario)
Website | Email
​Mary Pugh Email: ​Mary.Pugh@tcdsb.org ​VOICE for Hearing Impaired Children
(416) 487-7719
Website | Email
​George Wedge
Chair
Email: George.Wedge@tcdsb.org Easter Seals Ontario​
POC: Alison Morse
One Concorde Gate, Suite 700
Toronto, M3C 3N6
(416) 510-5070
Fax: (416) 696-1035
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6252
Website
Trustee Angela Kennedy Email: Angela.Kennedy@tcdsb.org (416) 512-3411
​Trustee Nancy Crawford Email: ​Nancy.Crawford@tcdsb.org ​(416) 512-3412
​Trustee Daniel Di Giorgio Email: ​Daniel.DiGiorgio@tcdsb.org ​(416) 512-3410
​​​​​​​​​​